Christmas Carolers

So my mom and I went to Coleen’s Caring Hands, the nursing home in town that my great grandmother has lived for the past year now. We try to visit my great grandmother, who we call GG, as frequently as we can.

The last few visits have been worrisome because GG has been having nightmares and her behavior has turned more angry. She has cried a few times, something my mother has never seen her do. It has been frightening. Last time, she even squeezed my arm because she thought I was going to hurt her when I was just trying to help her walk.

A group of Christmas carolers end up coming to the nursing home near the end of our visit. We stayed and listened to them. I haven’t heard carolers since I was in elementary school, so it was nice to see that it was still a thing here in town. They passed out candy canes afterward.

Tomorrow is Christmas Eve, which also happens to be GG’s birthday. Hopefully it will be a very good day for all of us.

Leave a Reply

